Home » Islamic Revolution » Attractions » Tehran » Sa’dabad Palace
Published on 28 May 2014 | Category : Tehran

Sa’dabad Palace

Font size

The Saadabad Palace  is a palace built by the Pahlavi dynasty of Iran in the Shemiran area of Tehran

The complex was first inhabited by Qajar monarchs and royal family in the 19th century. After an expansion of the compounds, Reza Shah lived there in the 1920s. And his son, Mohammad Reza Pahlavi moved there in the 1970s.

After the Iranian Revolution, the complex became a museum. However, the current presidential palace is located adjacent to the Sa’dabad compound.


Present use


Currently, parts of the Saadabad Palace compound are museums, in which visitors can roam through and look at the rich history of Iran, and some parts of the compound are used by the Iranian Cultural Heritage Organization which is responsible for most of the artifacts, locations, and cultural aspects of Iran. Also, the palace named "Kakhe malakeye madar" nowadays belongs to the presidency organization, and hosts the president’s foreign guests.




1. Nezamieh Gate, from which Reza Shah came into the complex.

2. Zaferaniyeh Gate, from which currently Iranian president came into the complex.

3. Darband Street Gate, from which Mohammad Reza Shah came into the complex.

4. Darband Square Gate

5. Ja’far Abad Gate (1st)

6. Ja’far Abad Gate (2nd)

7. River Gate

8. White House Gate




In total, Sa’dabad Palace contains 18 castles or houses, they are:

1. Ahmad shah Castle (Currently used by the Women and Family Participation Affairs Organization)

2. Shahvand Castle (Currently Green Museum)

3. White Castle or White House (Currently the National Museum Castle)

4. Special Castle (Museum of Natural History of the past, currently used by the president)

5. Black Castle (كاخ اسود) (Currently the Museum of Current Arts)

6. Shams Castle (Currently the Museum of Human Studies)

7. Ashraf Castle (Named after Mohammad Reza Pahlavi’s twin sister, Currently the Museum of Historical Plates)

8. Gholam Reza Castle

9. Mother’s Queen Castle (Currently the Republic Building)

10. Ahmad Reza Castle

11. Abdol Reza Castle (Sa’adabad Control Center)

12. Bahman Pahlavi Castle (Named after Gholam Reza’s son, Currently the Training Center)

13. Shahram Castle (Named after Ashraf Pahlavi’s son, Currently the Military Museum)

14. Farideh Diba

15. Valiahd Reza Pahlavi Castle (1st castle, Currently the Museum of Behzad)

16. Valiahd Reza Pahlavi Castle (2nd castle, Currently the Museum of Dafineh)

17. Farahnaz and Ali Reza Castle (Children of Reza Pahlavi, Currently the Museum of Calligraphy and book of Mir Emad)

18. Leila Castle

Related articles
Write comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *